We’re leaving on a jet plane…

Yes we are.  Our bags are packed and waiting to be loaded into the truck, we are checked in online, we’ve said many good-byes and we are ready to head out the door.

I think that we’ve been ready to head out the door for a long time now.  We hadn’t intended to be here in Canada for this long.  We thought that we’d be here for a couple of months and be back in Zim for Christmas.  Goes to show what do we know really? And you know what? It’s been good to be here.  I won’t go into lots of details and reasons, but this time back in Canada has been good for us, as individuals and as a family unit.  We can’t wait to set foot on the ground at Eden again, dodge the odd cobra or chameleon, and get back into life there.  But we are going back with a much better awareness of what life is like in Africa, what we want to do differently and refreshed to run the race set before us.

Usually I don’t sleep well the night before I travel.  I toss and turn and am awake more than I’m asleep.  Last night went really well though and I woke up early but rested.  The chaos of last minute packing, checking in online, paying for extra baggage and making sure we haven’t forgotten anything has been normal, but with an overarching sense of peace, which isn’t normal.

The feeling I have is gratitude.  We have been the recipients of the generosity of so many people while we’ve been here.  I’m not going to list off those people, I’d miss way too many.  It’s been so cool to see how God has provided for us through others, sometimes people we don’t even know.  This is the way it’s supposed to work, I know.  It feels like something out of the book of Acts.  It has been humbling to accept so much generosity and I often feel like I can’t express my gratitude enough.  I just hope that when I do say ‘thank you’ that you all know that it comes sincerely from my heart.

We will be emailing, Facebook-ing, blogging and Instagram-ing like crazy to keep you all in the loop.

Thank you and God bless!

One thought on “We’re leaving on a jet plane…

Leave a Reply

